Sew Tip: Presser Feet that Measure

I recently talked about measuring your projects accurately before cutting them, but just as important is measuring while you’re sewing.  I found that purchasing a couple of feet that I can use to measure my seam allowance while I’m sewing has saved me hours of tearing seams out that don’t fit together correctly.  These are the ones that I use almost every time that I sew:

My first purchase was the foot on the far left, a 1/4″ presser foot.  This is perfect for those projects, like quilt blocks, that always use a 1/4″ seam allowance.  I often use this foot, even if I’m not sewing a 1/4″ seam.

The second foot, right next to it, is also a 1/4″ foot, but it is clear and has a guide on the right side.

This one was a recent purchase.  It’s great because it allows you to see what you are doing, and the guide actually keeps you in line with the fabric.

You notice that you can only do a straight stitch with the 1/4″ feet.  There is only a round hole for the needle to go down through.  If there are times that you are sewing something where you’re not on the edge of the fabric, I have found that using the foot without the guide works better, because the guide doesn’t slide over fabric well, and will bunch it up.

The third foot is for sewing a 5/8″ seam.  It is clear and has the edge guide.

This foot is great if you are sewing a pattern that has 5/8″ seams. It allows you to see where you are sewing, and still keep the seam width steady.  This one also allows you to do zig zag or other types of stitches rather than just a straight stitch.

I have found that these three presser feet have been well worth the investment.  They have saved me hours of tearing out uneven seams.

Thanks for coming by!

 

One response to “Sew Tip: Presser Feet that Measure

  1. I think I have all of these too, and love them. So much easier to get the right seam with the right presser foot. Great tip today!

    Like