Time to Party!!!

I have to say that I have some of the most creative customers at Creative Trims, they come to me with the greatest crafting ideas! I really get to use my imagination helping them gather the ribbons that they need to make so many different and wonderful projects.  I want to share the latest project right here with you.

Jessica sent me this picture of the sweetest birthday hat!  I helped her gather the ribbon together so that she could make this for her little girl’s birthday.  I thought that it was so sweet, that I decided to make one so that I could show you some variation of this project.  Now mine is just not nearly as cute as this one, but I was just trying to get the steps into place.  I made mine for the celebration of our nation’s birthday, July 4th.

As you can see, I made this one a little simpler.  But it will give you the idea of what we came up with.  We did a few things different for hers, than what the upper picture shows.  But use your imagination, there are so many possibilities!

First gather your supplies:

Party hats
Glue – I used Fabri-Tac
Scissors
Hole Punch

Then gather together your ribbon.  You only need yardage if you are making a lot of hats, exactly the same.  I have gather all red, white and blue, and most of the pieces are less than 1 yard.  You could also use the same color scheme and make each hat differently.  Make sure that you have ribbons that are different widths and textures for variety.

First I punched a hole in the top of the hat.  This is where you will tie on the ribbons.  I also removed the elastic strings so that I could add some ribbon ties to the hat.  Don’t remove the elastic unless you are going to add the ties.

Start cutting your ribbons and layering them on top of each other.  I just did slanted cuts, but you can do pinked edges, or a V-cut, whatever you prefer. I just guessed on a length for the ribbon.  If you want it to be a softer look, you may want them longer so they hang down a little more.  I cut each successive ribbon about 1/2″ shorter than the one it laid upon.

After you add as many ribbon layers you want, turn your stack over and lay it on the ribbon you will be tying them on with.  I used a 1/8″ satin ribbon here.  The first hat had a 3/8″ organza ribbon.  It’s up to you.  The organza will be a softer look, I was looking for a ‘fireworks’ look.

Then tie it on the top of the hat.  I slipped each side through the hole, one on each side:

I then pulled them through and around and tied them on the top into a knot.  You can also add a dab of glue to hold the ribbon in place if you would like.

Softer ribbon will be easier to tie on, and will drape more.

I then added some ties where the elastic string was:

I tied a knot in the ribbon, insert it through the holes on the sides and taped it in.  You could also add some glue to hold the ribbon better. I then tied a knot in the bottom end of the ribbon as well.

I attached some rick rack on this hat, around the base.  It only took a dab of glue every few inches.  The birthday hat has some ruffled organza ribbon attached to the bottom. If you cannot locate ruffled organza, take some wide (at least 1 1/2″) organza ribbon and do a basting stitch up the center of a piece of ribbon at least double the lenth of the measurement around the hat.  You can hand or machine baste the ribbon.  Then pull and gather the ribbon, and glue in place.

There you have it!

A special party hat for any celebration, that can be individualized for each recipient! And at a fraction of the price of purchasing them.

I hope that you found some inspiration and enjoy this project!

Regards,
Cheryl

2 responses to “Time to Party!!!

  1. Hi Cheryl,
    Just enjoyed your tut on the party hat. I was wondering: do you ever sleep? HA HA You seem to be so busy all the time. But your followers love it.
    Going to try some of your receipes soon.
    Regards,
    Nancy

    Like

  2. Cute party decorations. How nice that your followers share pictures of their projects with you. Such a great way to get inspired. Happy 4th of July to you!

    Like