Slow and easy………

That’s how I’m sewing these days, slow and easy.  I don’t know about you, but I can tend to rush myself, trying to get things done.  I find that my mind starts racing, and I just go, go, go!  And I don’t want to work on anything that takes too long, because I just want to get it done! lol!

So I am teaching myself to slow down, and take things one step at a time.

And you know what? It’s working……

I’m getting more done, than if I just raced on through things.  I have gotten this wall hanging that I spoke about in my last post, all pieced!  Not quite as soon as I had hoped, but I had a few other things that were a priority this last weekend.

I still need to decide on the borders, but I think that I will let it hang up on my design board for a couple of days before I decide what I want to do for the borders, and how I want to quilt it. I may quilt it by hand!

I had so much fun putting this top together!  I think that it is because I took the pressure off of myself to hurry and get it done.  It pieced together really well, and I absolutely love it!

I also learned something else.  It’s OK to make mistakes.  I am pretty hard on myself if I make a mistake.  And this holds me back from attempting anything that is too hard or challenging.  At least lately it does.  So I have set some goals for myself:  to keep learning something new in my sewing and quilting by continuing to move on to more challenging projects, to slow myself down when working on my projects, and to quit being so hard on myself.

So……I started another project today.

Just a sneak peek……..more about this in my next post!

Tell me, what are you working on?  Are you trying to overcome any challenges in your sewing?  I’d love to hear from you~

 

 

5 responses to “Slow and easy………

  1. I like those colors…very nice!

    Like

  2. Wow, good for you for getting so far on such a cool project! I love the pattern inside the pattern with these blocks. I’m loving the rich colors for your next project. So fun to pull fabrics together, isn’t it.

    Like

  3. Gorgeous! Love the colors and the block pattern!

    Like

  4. OOH we are working on the same pattern!! I used a layer cake (cut into 4 charms) to make mine O’s of all the same color….and now I’m struggling with layout issues! C’est la vie! I love yours!

    Happy stitching!

    Like

  5. You have a very nice blog and very good tutorials.I am going to try the fabric buckets.Thank you.

    Like