January Blocks of the Month Done!!

I decided it would be great fun to participate in a block of the month group this year.  One of my goals (you know those resolutions…he,he) for the year is to do more quilting and to learn some new techniques.

I read about a block of the month class/workshop that is going on over at Craftsy.com, and it’s free, so I checked it out!

This is such a great class! And did I mention that it is free! (I have also signed up for 3 other classes over there, but more about them another time.)  The class is being taught by Amy Gibson.  And if you haven’t checked out the Craftsy platform, you really need to get over there!

January Blocks

Here are my two blocks for January.  Hanging a little lopsided on my design board, but done!  Yay!  I chose white for my main background and sashing color.  I am using different blues from my stash for the balance of the materials.  I have so much fabric, I know I can get a quilt done just using my stash. And blue is my favorite color.  I thought that a blue and white quilt would be just stunning!

Asterisk Block

Here is a closer look at my Asterisk block.  January blocks are slashed blocks.  This is the first time that I have sewn using this method, and it’s so easy, and liberating!  I can see me using this method to come up with some new blocks easily!

Wonky Pound Sign

This block Amy calls the Wonky Pound Sign.  I haven’t decided which way I will lay it in the quilt at this point, but it was really a fun block to make.

The February blocks are now posted up and the video is ready to roll! February is working with half-square triangles.  The blocks are called Balkan Puzzle and Chunky Chevron.  There will be more of a variety of fabrics used in these, so they will be a little more interesting.

This is really getting my creative juices flowing, which is why I decided to do it.  It’s not too late to sign up if you’re interested!  I have a link here, and then one in my sidebar.  Click on over and check it out!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

5 responses to “January Blocks of the Month Done!!

  1. Cheryl! I’m so glad you’re joining in for the block of the month! Your blue and white quilt is going to be so crisp and lovely! I can’t wait to see it all completed! Happy stitching! :) Amy

    Like

    • Thank you Amy!

      I am so excited to be taking this class, thank you so much for all of the hard work you have put into teaching us how to sew these blocks and putting all of these lovely videos together!

      I can’t wait to see what’s up next!

      Enjoy your weekend! Cheryl

      Like

  2. Cool blocks! It’s great to see you sewing again, especially with such a cool project to keep you going each month.

    Like

    • Thanks Terri!

      I’m so excited to be working on patchwork and quilting again! I’m hoping that learning some new techniques this year will keep me inspired and prompt me to get some of my old projects done!

      Enjoy your weekend! Cheryl

      Like

  3. I love the blocks Cheryl. They look like so much fun. thanks for the link too.

    Like