Learning New Things

Along with the new year comes the renewed feeling of energy to start new things, tidy up old things, and move on.  I am so thankful for the beginning of the new year because of this feeling.  I don’t seem to feel this way any other time of the year.  Which brings me to the reason for this post.

I was browsing the internet gathering up some inspiration and looking for something that I would enjoy participating in, that I figured I would actually follow through on (something that has been a bit hard for me to do this last year or so, chuckle!)  I ran across this quilt along project that I felt would fit perfectly in my plans for 2012 and what I would like to accomplish, learn some new techniques for my sewing and get back to quilting!

Leah has a website, The Free Motion Quilting Project, where she is doing a weekly quilt along, meaning not piecing and making quilts, but teaching different quilting techniques for machine quilting!  Perfect! 

So many of us, I’m sure I’m not the only one, are afraid to move out of our comfort zone and try some new things.  And I know that I need a kick from behind to get myself going on some of these projects!

So, even though she has already started this, I am so excited to know that I will be learning some new things, and practicing along with others who are where I am, needing that nudge!

If you’re interested, click on the link above, or in my sidebar, and join us!  The more the merrier!

 

One response to “Learning New Things

  1. Sounds like a fun project to work on over the course of the year! Mothers always say the only way to get better at something is to practice, so this will be a great way to get comfortable with your free motion quilting. Don’t forget to have fun too!

    Like