Time for Some Summer Pillows!

Now that the weather here is looking like summer, I decided to start getting the front porch and back deck into habitable shape! lol!  I have had a design for a simple, fun pillow in my head for some time and decided that it would be just the thing to start to brighten things up out there!

I love blue pillow ticking and red cotton fabric together, and I thought that the combination would be perfect to make a pillow for my adirondack chair.  I chose some fabrics from my stash, that have been calling out to me for some time, and chose to just do a simple piecing so that they also stand out on their own.

I know that at least one of these fabrics has been in my stash for almost 30 years!  I keep my fabrics stored away from light, so they have been strong enough that I have been able to keep using them.

I had some heavy weight pillow ticking left over from some other projects I had done, so I got that out, and here you are!

I barely had enough ticking left to do this pillow, so I did some creative thinking to be able to complete the back. I really love how it turned out.  In fact, I love this pillow so much, I decided to make one for my shop.

The difference here is that I used a lighter weight pillow ticking, and made the pillow just slightly larger.  This gave it a little softer look and feel, than the one I made for myself.

I love the red with the blue ticking, it says summer!

Thanks for coming by!

Cheryl

2 responses to “Time for Some Summer Pillows!

  1. Those turned out beautiful! What a fun design! Enjoy your deck and porch this summer!

    Like

  2. Such a perfect pillow for the front porch! I love the curb appeal this look offers. There’s something so charming about blue ticking, which will also be very durable for outdoor seating.

    Like