Quick and Easy 4th of July Decoration

When I was living in Arizona, I didn’t have any place to put up a flag pole holder, so I came up with other ideas to show my support and display a flag.

I made this flag banner and this wreath and put it up for July 4th, and Memorial Day, every patriotic holiday.

Well here in Washington, I have a place to hang my flag out, but I still like the flag banner and the wreath, so I am still going to use them.  Only the wreath has seen better days! So I took everything off of the wreath, and started fresh, looking around the house for things I could use on it.

I found that I still had 3 small flags stashed in my crafting supplies, I have ribbon from my shop, and the wreath.  First I had to do some repair and cleanup on the wreath, the Arizona sun is hard on natural elements like vines and wood.  Remove dried hot glue, and some additional repair to the vines.

Then I placed the flags around the wreath, tucking the poles into the vines to help hold them.  I used hot glue to secure the poles and parts of the flags, since this was going to go outside.

I then took the ribbon, I used 3 yards of 1/4″ width grosgrain in red, white and royal blue (note that a wider width would have had more impact and shown up a little better, it depends upon the look you want to get). I started at the bottom, that’s where I wanted to tie a bow, and wrapped it around the wreath, placing it around the flags.  When I got to the bottom, I tied all of the ribbon in a knot, then made the bow.  I placed a bit of hot glue into the knotted area of the bow to hold the ribbon together.

You can see how I wrapped the ribbon in this picture.  After I did the bow, I spread out the three pieces of ribbon so that the red, white and blue were more visible.  I cut the ends at a slant, making them a little uneven as well.

I took a scrap of the ribbon and tied a loop on the top of the back of the wreath to use to hang it.

And there you have it!  Easy as can be!  This is so simple, and you can do so many other things to decorate a wreath for your July 4th celebration. Just look around and see what you have on hand.

I just can’t decide, should I hang it on the side of the house between the garage doors (so we can see it coming in the driveway)

Or, hang it by the front door on the porch? hmmmmm…………

Thanks for stopping by!

 

One response to “Quick and Easy 4th of July Decoration

  1. What a great way to simple decorating for the 4th of July holiday! I especially love that banner. I just put a couple small flags in containers on our front porch, but I feel like we need more flair!

    Like