My Design Board

I have been wanting to make a design board to lay out some of the patchwork projects that I do, for quite awhile. It makes it so much easier to see how things look together when they are laid out so that you can step back and look at them, rather than spreading everything out across a table.  I don’t have a lot of floor space in my sewing room, in fact it is filled to the brim!  So I came up with an easy and inexpensive way to make one.

Design Board

This is my hanging design board.  My sewing room is a light, light blue (actually called ash white) so it is sort of hard for me to get a really good picture of it.

I purchased a sturdy built bulletin board that was in good condition from the Goodwill.  It measures about 24″ high and 36″ across.   It is the perfect size for this wall, which is across from a double window, so it gets a lot of natural light.

Sewing Room Window

The board is so easy to make.  I didn’t take pictures along the way, but I know you will be able to follow what I am saying.

I gathered together some polyester batting, a piece of white flannel, my staple gun and the bulletin board.

First you need to lay the flannel out (I used the floor) with the right side out, or facing the floor.  Next, lay your batting on top of the flannel. Make sure that your batting will wrap around the outside edges of the wood frame on the bulletin board.  Next lay the bulletin board front (face) down on the batting. Then wrap the flannel and batting piece around the frame of the bulletin board to the back.

Starting on one long side, I pulled the flannel to the back, folded under the edge (just to make it look neater.  Not necessarily a requirement) of the flannel, and then stapled. I did the first long side, starting in the middle and working my way out to the ends, then went around the board to the second long side.

After you staple the long edges, move to the short ones, starting in the middle of each, and working your way down each side, stapling to the outside edges.  When you get to the corners, just fold the excess in and tuck it under, then staple.

Fold in the Corner and Staple

After that, if you need a hook, add one on.  Where you place it will depend on the size of your board and how you prefer to hang it.  Yay, you’re done!

Using My Design Board!

Now you can just place your material up on the board and rearrange until you get the design that you want!  The fabric just stays up on the flannel.  Or if you have heavier items, you can use pins to hold the pieces up as well.

Yay!  I am so happy to have this board! Now I guess I better get my blocks together and get them sewn!

Thanks for stopping by!

One response to “My Design Board

  1. Great idea to use a bulletin board to you can pin things to it. It is SO nice having a design board. I use the flannel side of a picnic tablecloth. I put grommets on one end and hang it in the hallway when I need to use it. The nails on the wall are really high up so they aren’t noticeable when the design board isn’t hung up. Nice to have a place to spread out your projects! Great tute!

    Like