Spring Hearts

I have been busy moving my sewing room, yes the one I was just setting up in my new home on the 2nd floor, to a room on the 1st floor.  I had to paint, and move boxes that are still being emptied, and I still don’t have all of my fabric down there.  But for the most part it is functional.  I will give you a peak in another post.  For now, I want to share a small project I did today.

This is my stash of scraps.  I’m sure yours is the same, strips from squaring up fabric and other small pieces that are too large to throw away…….

Not very organized I know!  It actually did start out organized at one point, but this is where we are today….maybe another day.  So on with the story, I keep looking at this container full of a lot of small strips and pieces, and I keep telling myself that some day I am going to do something fun with them.  Well, today must have been the day.  And I hardly made a dent!

This is what I made.  As I was going through my sewing and crafts containers and boxes, I came across some metal heart frames.

You can see here that I had three of these metal heart frames.  I used the small one above, and still have the double heart, and large heart below ready and waiting!

I have been storing these hearts for years.  Way, way back, in the ’80’s (so I am giving my age away)  these wire forms were pretty popular.  We sewed  strips of fabric into tubes that we slipped on these wire forms. We gathered them up so that there was a large amount of fabric bunched together, and formed a wreath.  Instead of using them that way, I decided to make a rag heart wreath from my stash of light spring colors.  It was a fairly quick project, and didn’t require any sewing.

I am very pleased with the end result.  I think that this is such a cute wreath for spring, Mother’s Day, or to use in a baby’s room.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing, take care!

8 responses to “Spring Hearts

  1. Very cute. I have lots of scraps too that I just can’t seem to part with. I mostly use mine for appliques on my 3 grandchildrens clothes and have also made tooth fairy pillows and little door knob hanging pillows. I want to soon make a few quilted pot holders.

    Like

    • There are so many things we can do with our scraps! I have a few ideas for string pillows and quilts!

      I’d love to see your projects you have done as well!

      Thanks for stopping by, take care. Cheryl

      Like

  2. Way cute project. I took a couple of days a few years ago and took my bits like this and cut them down to 3″ and 2.5″ squares and threw all the resulting scraps away :) Enough is enough, and I have a nice drawer full of already been cuts to play with when I want something to sew but don’t feel like cutting.

    thanks for sharing, Sharyn

    Like

    • That’s a great idea Sharyn! I had originally just stored strips that were cut 2 1/2″, or 1″ etc. But it has evolved. I guess I need to put this on my organizing list!

      Enjoy your holiday weekend, thanks for coming by!

      Cheryl

      Like

  3. What a clever idea! Looks like such a great way to use scraps too. Sounds like you are enjoying getting organized in your new house – can’t wait to see your new sewing space.

    Like

  4. I like the heart wreath. It would be a good project for kids too.

    I have been arranging and rearranging my craft/sewing room since it moved into my house over 3 years ago. I really want to paint the room because it has wood paneling which makes it very dark. But what a pain in the butt!

    Like