Handmade Home

After spending many months cleaning, scraping and painting just about everything around the house in preparation of selling, I finally got to enjoy doing some quick (maybe not too quick) sewing projects to pull the house together just a little bit more.

One of those items was this table cover.  It is actually a shower curtain that I cut and hemmed into a circle.  I found one in colors that were fairly neutral, matched my furniture, and was the perfect size to use on this table.  A lot less expensive to do that using upholstery/drapery fabric.

Another project was this slipcover for the loveseat.  I know it’s a little crumpled in this picture, but I used a natural color canvas fabric that I pre-washed.  I actually whipped this together quickly (well, rather quickly) just to get it done before the holidays.  I will probably make another one down the road, but for now, it’s an improvement!

My first slipcover, I really learned a lot!

I also needed something to add a little color in the den, so I used some floral drapery fabric that I had left after making window coverings for the french doors a couple of years ago.

A little hard to see here, but I wanted to give you a quick look.  Pretty simple, yet it really added to the room.

This is what the french doors look like.  I made the window treatments for the doors because we had a sleep sofa in the room that we used for out of town company.  We just removed the tassel tie-backs so the windows were covered for privacy.

This gives you a little more insight to what I’ve been doing, and why I have been so absent the last few months.  If you would like to see some of my furniture painting projects that I have been working on, stop by my other blog, All My Eggs.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your time with me!

Take care,

Cheryl

 

 

8 responses to “Handmade Home

  1. Love your home improvements! I wish I were better at doing stuff like this. Great idea to repurpose a shower curtain for such a great table cover. I am going to start looking at the shower curtains at Target in a different way now. Your new sofa is so inviting with that fresh, crisp slipcover and pile of pillows. Kudos to you for all this inspiring work!

    Like

  2. I love each piece. You are a brave girl doing a slipcover. I am too afraid to take on that challege, but you have inspired me. I might give it a try. Now I just have to find the time.
    All the best

    Like

    • Thanks Debra, it was a real learning experience making the slipcover. I actually had the fabric for a couple of years, talk about procrastinating! The next one should be easier!

      Take care, Cheryl

      Like

  3. you have been absent for awhile! Glad to see you are back. Sounds like you’ve been pretty busy with your projects!

    Like

  4. Wow! You took on a couch recovering project and it looks great. I would like to recover my couch . I have looked at patterns and books on how to go about this type of project but have never recovered my couch. If you do another cover, would you do a tutorial?

    Like

    • Thank you! This was actually my first slipcover. I know the hesitation that you feel! I will be doing another on a sleep sofa in a couple of months, I’ll see about explaining the process that I use, and doing a tutorial. Hopefully it would help others by learning from my mistakes!

      Take care, Cheryl

      Like