Here’s the Quilt that I Sent…..

Falling Leaves

This is the mini quilt that I sent to my swap partner, Kim Kiley for the 2009 Fall Mini Quilt Swap. I did a patchwork background in light, subtle colored fabrics, then I did a raw applique tree, which I sewed up and down to create lines (bark).  I then did random cutting on the leaves, sewed them using raw applique, and then I machine stitched (quilted) around them with a brown varigated thread to give them a 3-dimensional look. A little hard to see in the pictures that I took.

Closeup of sewing around the leaves.

These swaps are so addicting!  The small quilts are fun to make and I love seeing all of the creativity that is out there!  All of these quilters have such a wide range of talents.  Click on over to the Flicker group and check them out!

Thanks for stopping by! Take care,

Cheryl

4 responses to “Here’s the Quilt that I Sent…..

  1. Beautiful! Definitely worthy of hanging on my walls! I love how you did the raw applique with the branches and leaves. I love that patchwork for the background and the nice framing, which reminds me of matting and framing. A work of art with this one!

    Are you doing the winter quilt swap? I saw an announcement for it last week.

    Like

  2. That is so beautiful, Cheryl! it would look great hanging in an entryway during Fall!

    Like

  3. What a lovely little Quilt.
    Bear regards,

    Beertje Zonn

    Like