Prizes, Decorations and Candy!

This is such a busy season, shopping, making gifts, baking, cleaning, decorating, school programs and all of those things that make the holidays what they are to each of us. I thought that I would share a couple of things that have been happening at my home during this ‘most wonderful time of the year’…..

As a lot of you may know, Sew Mama Sew just had their ‘Giveaway Day Dec 2, 2009.’ The work we’ve been doing on our house prevented me from participating this year, although I did get by a handful of blogs to enter a few of their contests, and find some new creative inspiration. Well, I won a prize! I received it a couple of days ago, an Olfa Circle cutter!

I received it from Amanda Herring.  She has a wonderful blog called “The Quilted Fish“.  And some great ideas for using this cutter for making circle mousepads for gifts!

I’ve been thinking that a circle quilt is just what I will need to be working on after the first of the year!

Next, I made this wonderful potpourri Christmas decoration from directions that Terri over at Terri’s Notebook has so generously shared with everyone…..

I used a fairly large jar that has bubbles in the glass, and an old crocheted doily that has roses and green leaves around the outside edge.  It works perfectly, and you can smell the pine potpourri’s subtle fragrance that comes from the small amount of warmth of the lights. So stop over and see Terri and her tutorial.  This would make a wonderful gift for a friend!

And next, a sweet treat that I made today, that I just have to share!

This is Cardamom Fudge.  I had never heard of it before, but I picked up an issue of Country Living Magazine – British Edition, and this was included in their baking/candy section.  I made mine with a mixture of dark and light brown sugar so it is a little darker than what they show in the magazine.  It is fairly rich and has a slight caramel flavor.  The recipe can be found here.

We have a bit more work to finish on the house before we put it on the market.  We’re hoping for next month. My bathroom is torn apart as I sit here typing, new tile on Friday and Saturday and the floor will be grouted tomorrow.  New faucets installed there as well, and a new sink in the laundry room.  Yesterday a new sink and faucet was installed in the kitchen.  Unfortunately, this means that I may not have the time to come by and write until after Christmas. I do miss being here, and I try to stop by to see a few of your blogs each day.

I want to thank each and every one of you for coming by and offering your support and encouragement throughout the last year.  I want to wish you and your families a wonderful holiday and the very best for the New Year.  I hope to be back on a regular basis soon.

Take care,     Cheryl

 

 

3 responses to “Prizes, Decorations and Candy!

  1. Congrats on your prize, Cheryl! I always wanted to try one of those circular rotary cutters. Maybe I would be willing to make projects with circles then.

    Your Christmas nightlight is so lovely! I really like the the shape of that jar. Using a larger size is nice too because you can fit more potpourri and a longer strand of lights inside. It looks great with those pinecones.

    Good luck with the work on the house! I know that can be tough to get through. It has been such a pleasure becoming friends through our blogs this year. Enjoy your Christmas and New Years! Here’s to 2010!

    Like

  2. Hi Cheryl,
    Thanks so much for your lovely christmas wishes!!
    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year, you and your family too.
    hugs
    Robyn xx

    Like

  3. Merry Christmas Cheryl (belated so sorry)
    Hope you have many fun days with those new toys.
    Happy New Year to you .
    Debra

    Like