Book Review – Pretty Little Presents

As I promised, here is a look at a book that I recently purchased.  I had actually been looking at this book online, and decided that I wouldn’t purchase it.  But then browsing through the sewing books over at my local Barnes and Noble, (just try to keep me away from them!)  I ran across it.  Having a chance to really browse through it changed my mind totally.  I decided that there are a lot of really cute projects in the book that I would make.  It makes all the difference when you can really get a good look at the book before you purchase it.  That’s why I like to give all of you a chance to see some of these books, before you make the decision to purchase it or not.  Anyhow, here goes, through my eyes….

Pretty Little Presents

And a note:  Please excuse the lighting in these pictures.  I had to do this in the evening, and I had a hard time getting good light.

Pretty Little Presents is published by Lark Books and features projects from several different designers. Here is a look at the credits page..

Designer Credits

Designer Credits

In case you can’t read this well, you’ll see names like Elizabeth Hartman, Fiona Hesford, Belinda Andresson, Stephanie Costo, Lisa Cox and many, many others.  The information includes their websites and blogs, where you can learn so much more about them, and follow all of their crafty endeavors.

prelly little presents

Contents Page 1

Contents Page 1

Contents Page 2

Contents Page 2

The book is divided up int five chapters:  Host(ess) With the Most(est), Welcome Home, Snappy Birthday, Tying the Knot, and Bundles of Joy.  The chapters are all set up with gift giving in mind, and most of the projects are pretty quick to make.

Starting with basics, you will get some information  about what tools will be required to do most of the projects in the book, and a little background  about the tools needed and how they will be used.

Basics

Basics

There is also a some information regarding types of fabrics, what a fat quarter is, and some tips about sewing with these fabrics.  This is just general information, but can be helpful if you are fairly new to sewing with some of these fabrics.

Next, a small section of sewing techniques.  Diagrams walk you through tips such as binding with bias tape, clipping or notching curves, making and attaching straps, making your own bias tape, adding a lining, installing zippers, just to name a few.

DSC03391

The diagrams are fairly clear and easy to follow.

DSC03392

Diagrams like these are all through the book and included with each project as well.  Here is a peak at some of the projects included:

Passport Holder by Lisa Cox

Passport Holder by Lisa Cox

Passport Holder Instruction

Passport Holder Instruction

Some of the Figures

Some of the Figures

Closeup of the holder opened up

Closeup of the holder opened up

The project is listed step-by-step, with photos and figures to refer to so you know what is being said.

Here are a few more items for you to see….

Bookmarks with Magnets by Joan K. Morris

Bookmarks with Magnets by Joan K. Morris

Gift Card Holders by Beth Walker

Gift Card Holders by Beth Walker

Carryall by Lisa Cox

Carryall by Lisa Cox

Purse/Clutch by Elizabeth Hartman

Purse/Clutch by Elizabeth Hartman

wake, rattle & stroll by Roxanne Beauvais

wake, rattle & stroll by Roxanne Beauvais

hold anything by Celine Reid

hold anything by Celine Reid

sew convenient by Katherine Accettura

sew convenient by Katherine Accettura

I think that you get the idea.  I don’t want to ruin all of the surprises!

The book includes templates in the back that can be enlarged for use..

templates

templates

At 132 pages, this little book packs in a lot of projects that show a lot of creativity.  With holidays on the way, I have marked several that I’m going to make already!

I hope that you find that this information is helpful, and if you have any additional questions, please send me an e-mail, I’d be glad to answer them for you.

Enjoy your day, and thanks for stopping by!

4 responses to “Book Review – Pretty Little Presents

  1. Great book review! I know Lisa Cox so I was excited to see she had a project in this book. Looks like there are some very useful projects – I might have to look for this in person too. I really like the looks of some of those diagrams and figures you previewed. Thanks so much for sharing this and reminding me to go get it!

    Like

  2. what a wonderful book/ Cheryl thanks for your support on my blog..much appreciated coming from such talent best, Jennifer

    Like

  3. Oh just the few things you highlighted make me want to get that book… I have a few gift ideas already from that. Specifically that passport holder, one of my good friends had lost her Passport while out of the country and it was a huge ordeal… would be kind of funny to give her a passport holder… LOL. :)

    Like

  4. Perfect book for the up coming months. I could use some quick gift ideas. I love the organizers.
    I need really big ones!!!!

    Like