Elm Creek Quilts – Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler

I recently received a book  called ‘Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler from Elm Creek Quilts’ by Jennifer Chiaverini.  Many of you have probably heard about the Elm Creek Quilts Novels, I’m not sure how I missed these, but there was a wedding sampler quilt made for Sylvia’s wedding to her beloved Andrew.  I was so intrigued about this quilt, and had read about it in a few places, so I decided to get the quilt book. (I know I never buy books!) hehe!

Sylvia's Bridal Sampler

Sylvia's Bridal Sampler

I think that this quilt is just beautiful!  It is made up of 140 blocks, 6″ each.  I decided that I am going to make this quilt, and I thought that it would be fun if others wanted to make it as well!  Here is a little information about the book (this really is not a book review!):

Index of Blocks #1

Index of Blocks #1

Here is a peek at the blocks, and another one here:

#2

#2

And here is a sneak peak at the directions for the blocks, which are listed in alphabetical order, and numbered by placement in the quilt by row and column:

Block Directions

Block Directions

Another Peek at the Directions

Another Peek at the Directions

The blocks are made with templates, paper pieced and appliqued.  I think that this would be a great way to learn some new techniques!

Patterns and Templates

Patterns and Templates

And here is a sample of some of the quilts that have been made in the past from the blocks in this book:

Gallery

Gallery 2

This is the original - I'm doing this one!

This is the original - I'm doing this one!

Assembly

Assembly

And here is the assembly directions and diagram. The book looks like it is easy to follow along.

I thought that this would be a fun project to make over a period of time (a long period of time!)  Just a few blocks a month. You don’t have to make the entire quilt, there are several in the book that are made of just a few different blocks, lots of color combinations, and varying quilt sizes.  It’s up to you!

If anyone would like to join in, let me know.  What I plan on doing is posting the blocks in my sidebar, or perhaps set up a page, showing my progress. If others would like to participate or join in, I can set up a flickr group so that everyone can show off their blocks, and add a list of blogs (or if you don’t have a blog or website, just your name) in my sidebar of everyone participating.

I hope you’ll join me, it’s always more fun to sew something like this as a group!

Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your day!

5 responses to “Elm Creek Quilts – Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler

  1. It’s funny… the last couple of days i’ve been thinking of joining a sew-along type of thing. I’m actually really clueless as to how this works but I think it may help me “have to” find the time to sew. Can you answer a few questions for me?
    – would you post the exact directions for making each block? cutting & sewing?
    – i have no idea about flickr… how does that work?

    I MIGHT be interested… sounds like fun!
    That quilt is amazing!

    Like

  2. I saw Jennifer speak in Madison a few years ago when her first book came out. I haven’t seen this book yet – it looks beautiful! I can’t believe how many blocks it has – so many I have always wanted to try. Sounds like a fun project for a group!

    Like

  3. Cheryl your fabric buckets are the bomb!!!! love em.

    Like

  4. Sounds like a fun group. I love her books. I think most quilters do, I know, but it is a fun combination of story and quilting. Can’t wait to see this progress.
    Debra

    Like

  5. I am actually reading the book now where Sylvia is making her bridal quilt… well she hasn’t started yet, but I assume she will eventually cause they are talking about it. I will have to find this book and purchase it, I want to do a sampler quilt anyways, I always love how each block is unique. Definitely wouldn’t grow bored there.
    I look forward to seeing your blocks as they come out. I would love to do it along with you, just need to get the book first. :)

    Like