Sew and So…..

I didn’t complete any of my WIP’s but I did make some progress.  I also got a couple of other things done.

Quilting the Sofa Throw

Quilting the Sofa Throw

I did the quilting on the Sofa Throw.  I  decided to do channel quilting because I thought that the plain lines would emphasis the rectangular blocks the best.  The blocks are so busy,  I didn’t want to make it look more so.  I also have the fabric cut for the binding.

And then I made this….

Feather Pillow

It’s plain and fairly simple, but it’s wonderful!!  The textured fabric is what makes it.  There wasn’t a need for any further decoration on it.  I have had this panel of textured fabric in my stash for many, many years.  I had been waiting for the right project to make.  Here’s a closer look at the fabric:

Texture on pillow

It is soft, and has a little stretch, but not much.  And it is a heavier weight than any knit would be.  I’m not sure what it is.  Anyhow, all I had to do was fold over the edge of one of the ends and sew it, and then overlap the back.  I had a feather/down pillow that I decided to remake for an insert in a sofa pillow, so I used that.  I added a couple of hidden snaps on the back to keep it closed, and there you have it!  It is so soft and plush.  Simple, but perfect for the den!  I love it (and so does my daughter, she’s trying to get me to make her one now!).

And next, I got started on the quilt for the baby shower at work.  The date was moved to July 16, so I should be able to get it completed by then.

1st six blocks

I have six blocks done.  They will measure 12″ square after the quilt is assembled.

Pinwheel fabrics

And I have all of the fabrics for the block cut.  I had drawn lines from corner to corner, down the back yesterday. When I went to sew them today, I realized that the lines had disappeared!  Apparently I used the disappearing marking pen!  So now I am just  marking a couple of them as I sew them.  The sashing is going to be white bleached muslin.  I am looking forward to seeing how it turns out!

I hope that everyone had an enjoyable weekend, and I look forward to hearing about your sewing adventures!

Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses to “Sew and So…..

  1. Wow, great projects! You got a lot done, and have a lot going. I especially love those pinwheel blocks. What fun!

    Like

  2. You are definitely on a roll. The cutting is the hardest part. I too love the pinwheels.
    Debra

    Like