Tutorial: Ironing Board Cover

I decided some time ago that this counter top ironing board needed a new cover:
Yuck!!

Yuck!!

Yuck!  I looked at the heap of fabric that I call my stash, and I knew that this would be a good project to help me use  some of that fabric (so I can get more of course!).

Now!

Now!

So I picked out this pretty floral cotton print and went to work.  I made this up myself as I went along, and I was very happy with the results. I  thought that I would share how I made the cover, so I made up a tutorial that I hope you’ll find useful!

Supplies needed:

Enough fabric for the length of your ironing board or sleeve board plus about 10″

The same amount of muslin for lining your cover

brown kraft paper or something similar to draw your pattern on

ruler

padding for your board – I used a double layer of cotton batting (note: if you plan on washing your cover,  pre-shrink your cotton batting before you make this)

Heavy cotton string, ribbon, cording or whatever you want to use to gather and tie your cover to your board.  Measure around the entire circumference of your board and add on about 1 foot to the length.  I used heavy cotton string and I left it on the roll and  pulled it through the casing before cutting it.

Ruler

Pencil

Scissors

Disappearing or wash away fabric marker

thread

Iron

First you need to make a pattern for your board.  Roll out the kraft paper and lay your board on it upside down.

Drawing the Pattern

Drawing the Pattern

Using a pencil, draw all of the way around it. Next, using a ruler, measure the depth of your board.  You need to take the depth of the board and add on about 2 1/4″ more.  This will include a 1/4″ seam allowance.  My board was about 1/2″, so I used 2 3/4″ as my measurement.

Add Your Depth Allowance

Add Your Depth Allowance

You will need to measure from the line that you drew around the board, and mark the additional allowance.

Cut on the final line

Cut on the final line

Using the final line as your guide, cut out the pattern.

Now lay your fabric and your muslin with right sides facing each other.  Pin your pattern to the fabric and cut it out.

Cut the fabric

Cut the fabric

Note:  my picture only has the fabric because I didn’t figure this part out until I had already cut the top out.  So I cut them out separately.

Next you will need to cut out your padding.  Lay your board on the top of your padding, and draw around the board with a disappearing or wash away fabric marker. I know this picture is a little hard to see, but I think you can get the idea.

Lay & Outline Board on Padding
Lay & Outline Board on Padding
Cut out on the line.

Cut out on the line.

Now mark on the inside of your lining fabric where the padding will be. Do this by taking the measurement that you came up with for the sides and the seam allowance, and measure from the edge of the fabric. Mine is 2 3/4″. You only need to make a couple of marks for a guide.

Marking Padding Placement

Marking Padding Placement

Now lay your padding inside those marks.  It should meet the edge of the marks on all sides. Pin down the padding all the way around.

Attach Padding to Lining

Attach Padding to Lining

Now stitch all the way around the padding, securing it to the lining fabric.  If you have a walking foot for your machine, I recommend using it for this. After sewing this together,  you might want to lay the lining and padding on the top of your board to make sure it is going to fit.

Use a Walking Foot

Use a Walking Foot

After you have sewn down the padding, place the lining with the padding sewn on (padding facing up) with the right side of the muslin facing the right side of the outside cover fabric.  Pin together.  Starting on what will be the back end of the cover (this should be the straight end rather than the curved end) sew the two pieces together using a 1/4″ seam allowance and leaving about a 5″ opening to turn the cover.  Note:  if you are covering a full size ironing board, you may want to leave a little larger opening for turning.

Before turning it right side out, clip the curves to the seam making sure that you don’t clip into the seam.

Clip Curves

Clip Curves

Turn right side out and press around all of the edges so that they lay flat.  On the back end of your cover (the straight end), measure to find the middle.  Then mark 1/2″ on each side of the middle.  This needs to be left open/unsewn for the string to go through the casing.

Mark Opening

Mark Opening

Starting and ending where you marked the back opening,  stitch on the top of the outside through all layers, about 1/2″ from the edge. This forms the casing for the string.

Stitch 1/2" from Edge
Stitch 1/2″ from Edge
Casing

Casing

After you have gone all of the way around you will have to stitch 1/4″ from the outside edge where the opening was left from turning your cover right side out.  This will catch the 1/4″ seam allowance.  You’ll see what I mean when you do this part.  Please see the pictures:

Stitch 1/4" from Edge in Back Opening

Stitch 1/4" from Edge in Back Opening

Back Casing Opening

Back Casing Opening

Now you can pull your string all the way around the cover, through the casing.  Push your gathers down as you go through until you come out the other side.  Now lay your cover over the top of your board, lining up the padding on the top of the board.

Lay Cover on Board
Lay Cover on Board

Cover On BoardNow turn your board over and adjust the gathers around the bottom so that it fits your board smoothly. Tie your cover on.

Tie it On

Tie it On

Phew!!!!  All done!

Done!

Done!

Actually this is easier to do than to explain.  So please, if you have any confusion while trying to do this, please contact me and let me know.  I’d be glad to lend any assistance that I can.

Have fun!

3 responses to “Tutorial: Ironing Board Cover

  1. I have that very same fabric in my stash right now- it’s so much fun!

    I will definitely be making myself an ironing board cover but I’m waiting to get a better board. My under $10 one from Target rocks more than the Queen Mary’s maiden voyage. Thanks for the tutorial!

    Like

  2. Oh boy, do I need a new cover for my ironing board! I have just been lazy about replacing it, but you make it look so easy with this tutorial. Love how this turned out!

    Like

  3. thanks for the tutorial! i don’t even have an ironing board, big or little. not sure why?. i LOVE that fabric!!!!

    Like