A New Quilt!

I kept looking at the Chocolate Lollipop fabric setting in my stash…the same fabric that I used to make the bucket for the Sew Mama Sew Giveaway.  I really grew attached to that fabric after I used it to make the bucket.  So I decided to make a sofa quilt with it!

Sofa Quilt Top

Sofa Quilt Top

This sofa quilt is from Emma Hardy’s new book “Quilting In No Time.”  This was a really fun project to do, and it was quick!  I really wanted to sew something that I could get instant results!

 Quilting In No Time

Quilting In No Time

I am still deciding what I am going to back it with, and how I want to machine quilt it.  I used a solid chocolate brown for the border, and I may use the same for the backing.  The quilt in Emma’s book is tied instead of quilted, and she used linen for the borders and back. 

 I used a piece of turquoise fabric from Joel Dewberry, and some white cotton to give the quilt a break from the busy patterns in the other fabrics. I love the turquoise with these fabrics!turquoise

This is a great project if you are a beginner, or you want something that is quick, but doesn’t look like it.  This project would be great to make for Christmas if you have a long gift list!

Sofa Quilt

Quilting in No Time

Here’s the book.  I will post my review and more pictures of the contents tomorrow evening if you’re interested.

Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your Thursday!

6 responses to “A New Quilt!

  1. Hi!!! I’m sorry that you are missing your Chocolate Lollipop fabric…. I received it today!! Thanks so much!
    The little bucket is too cute for words. And all the goodies inside… love the little lacy ribbons. I always envision those kind of things in my girls’ hair!
    Anyway, I’m glad you were able to get your little sofa quilt together with the pretty fabric. I like it with the turquoise too.

    Like

  2. Yay, I love it! You know me, I adore anything made from chocolate lollipop fabrics! Your sofa quilt is gorgeous. I have that book too and really love it. I look forward to your review, which is always good.

    Like

  3. the top looks great! i really like the turquoise too! it does a great job of breaking up the larger busier patterns.

    Like

  4. That’s a lovely quilt! I really do like the color combination of the watery-blues and brown. I haven’t done any quilting yet, but interested in learning, so that book is definitely something I’ll have to check out!

    Like

  5. Came across your blog by searching “fat quarter projects” and happened up on this book review. Thanks for providing such a wonderful, review! Going to see if I can locate this book at my local bookstore.

    I’ll be adding you to my reader as well.

    I’m a newbie to the sewing/quilting/crafting thing. last time I really sewed before this was in HS for a class.

    Thanks!
    :-D)

    Like

  6. Great post! I’ll subscribe right now wth my feedreader software!

    Like