Home Decor, Quilts, Giveaways, Baking…..

It’s been a busy end of the week, and weekend!  I’m sorry that you haven’t heard from me.  I’ve just been trying to get things done!

First of all, I had some new honeycomb blinds delivered for my bedroom.  I measured and ordered them online.  My old ones held up well, but were coming apart.  So I got some that are room darkening this time.   Our bedroom has a lot of windows, and they face Southeast.  So the room gets a lot of the hot summer sun for most of the day.  Anyhow, I put them up on Saturday.  And after doing that, I was reminded by the empty rods hanging over the windows, that I still had some shear curtains that I had started (I’m embarrassed to tell you how long ago) stashed away in the closet. So I got them out and finished them! I used some wide white grosgrain ribbon to tie them back.

Sheers

Sheers

Here is just a peek of a couple.  On the left is one of the windows, there is another one farther to the left, which has a panel that hangs on the left side of the window.  The one on the right is one of two that frame a section that includes a window, door then another window.  They go almost to the floor.  I just thought that the sheers would keep the room from feeling heavy and add just enough to make it comfortable and serene feeling, with the light blue walls.  What a relief to get them up!  I dislike sewing sheer fabric because it slips so easily.  But my walking foot helped tremendously!  I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before!

Next, I completed my giveaway item for the Sew Mama Sew May giveaway that will be taking place on May 27.  I won’t show you now, but please come back by on Wednesday and leave a comment to be included in the drawing!  I have made an item, and then there are other items included for you to use to sew and craft with, so stop back by!  And to find out more about it, you can click on the link in my sidebar or….

Click Here!!

Click Here!!

Next, I am starting another baby quilt!  It will be a Flying Geese pattern and made of white and orange:

Flying Geese Fabric

I have been looking and looking at this fabric in my stash, and I think it will be great! I can’t wait!  I’ll keep you posted.

And last but not least, I love to bake!  I made some Snickerdoodle cookies today from Martha Stewart’s Cookies cookbook. If you’d like the recipe click on the picture below:

Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles

I post my baking and cooking recipes over at my other blog – All My Eggs.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.  I hope you are enjoying some time with family and friends and doing something special for yourself!

3 responses to “Home Decor, Quilts, Giveaways, Baking…..

  1. I have been in the mood to make a flying geese mini quilt lately! I love the oranges you have picked out. And your new curtains look great! I have MS’s cookie book, and love it. I haven’t tried these yet. Can’t wait to see what you’re giving away. I might just give away a few fat quarters (if SMS allows that).

    Like

  2. kINDLY add my blog button to your site in exchg :) thanks!

    Like

  3. That quilt will surely be adorable! :D

    Like