It Was an ‘LO’ Day…

Today I took a PTO day from work so that I could get some sewing time in.  The weekends seem to pile up with so many other things that need to be done, I decided this was well earned. Now, you may be thinking what is an ‘LO’?    Well, ‘LO’ is a term that my boss uses at work.  It means ‘Learning Opportunity’.  (And we always have those at work!) Anyhow, I had a few of those today. I really feel that we should try to learn something every day.  And if I don’t learn something new when I am sewing, I don’t feel like I am challenging myself enough. Not that I constantly need to learn things! But by doing things that I am not comfortable with and need practice doing, or learning a different way to do something can refresh my outlook as well as inspire more creativity in me.

I worked on a couple of projects that have been setting on my sewing table. One, a fabric cube from Anna Marie Horner’s book, “Seams to Me”.  I cut the cube out right after I received her book, which was as soon as it was released!

'Seams to Me' Fabric Cube

'Seams to Me' Fabric Cube

This wasn’t a hard project.  In fact, it went pretty quickly!  It just used a couple of techniques in the assembly that I hadn’t used.  So I procrastinated, looked at it, and left it.  Anyhow, I did end up changing one thing when I assembled it. I handstitched the bottom fabric on by hand to secure it, rather than depend upon the fusible interfacing that I used.

Fabric Cube storage!

Fabric Cube storage!

Now I have a place to store those felting tools that I just received, and one less project on my sewing table!

Next, remember that blue block that I assembled last week?

Blue Block
Well, it’s still handing there! I actually decided to do something else.

Courthouse Steps

Courthouse Steps

I made this wall hanging.  There are six blocks, they are smaller than the original one above (only 7″), and I arranged the strips in a way that is more of what I wanted to achieve. It measures about 28″ x 21″.

Courthouse Steps 2

I haven’t decided which way I want to hang it yet, I think the second picture where it is wider than it is long, may be it.  And it still needs to be quilted.  But I plan on doing that soon.

Courthouse Steps 3

Closeup

Closeup


This project was another learning opportunity for me.  I know that I need the practice in keeping my seams 1/4″ and  pressing the blocks without distorting them.  These are not perfect, I still need the practice.  But I’m closer than I was before! I also need to build my confidence in choosing fabrics to use together.  I rarely buy a coordinating line of fabrics.  Maybe a couple in a line, but I usually need to use additional fabrics. These are areas I am going to be working on.

What were your learning opportunities this week?

One response to “It Was an ‘LO’ Day…

  1. Wow, I love your learning opportunities. I have been wanting to make that fabric cube too, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Great courthouse steps! I have a few sewing related LOs for the week, especially trying machine quilting and stippling. I also wanted to try making a mini quilt, which I did and now need to machine quilt!

    Like