Inspiration

I’ve been spending more time lately looking around me and taking in the beauty of the desert. We have been talking about moving back to the northwest  and realizing that I live in a unique place, I decided that I should capture more of it in pictures.  How often have we taken our surroundings for granted?

I have been taking a lot more pictures of the blooming plants and surrounding landscape. I have always thought that one day I might want to try a landscape quilt, or to do some applique quilts or pillows of the blooms on the cactus and trees. Especially when I look at the blooms on the Saguaro cactus, or the spikes in bloom of the Ocotillo.

On my walk this morning I took several pictures of the surrounding area. We live in a development that is surrounded with state trust land. It’s one of the most beautiful areas in this part of Arizona. It is really so hard to capture the beauty of the area well without showing you the entire landscape, but here are a few of those that  I took this morning:

State Trust

State Trust

State Trust

There are a lot of blooming Palo Verde trees right now.  The whole landscape is blanketed in yellow.

Desert Blooms

OcotilloI was trying to capture a group of Ocotillo cactus here.  I love their spikes with the small green leaves and cluster of orange flowers.  The sun was just coming up when I took these, and I am facing a little southeast in these pictures.

Ocotillo Blooms

Ocotillo Blooms

This is a little closer look at the Ocotillo blooms.

Many Limb Saguaro Cactus!

Many Limb Saguaro Cactus!

I loved the look of this Saguaro cactus!  It was short and has many limbs going up! Pretty unique.

Saguaro Blooms

Saguaro Blooms

Here are some of the Saguaro Blooms.  They only last a couple of days, and only a few open up at a time.  They look almost wax-like.

I hope that you have enjoyed a glimpse of the desert, as much as I have enjoyed sharing it with you.

Enjoy your weekend, I hope that it is filled with inspiration!

5 responses to “Inspiration

  1. I am a resident of the desert as well…Those are some great pictures that you have here.

    Like

  2. Ahhh the “homeland” . I was born in Phoenix. Thanks for the wonderful pictures. You did a great job.
    Debra

    Like

  3. Wow, such amazing photos of the scenery in your part of the country. I especially love seeing the vistas and the blooming cacti. Great photos!

    Like

  4. Wow. Me? I’ve been spending my time looking for inspiration around desserts.

    Hmp.

    Mike
    http://somethingaboutparenting.typepad.com

    Twitter: AboutParenting

    Photo ideas? 100 Portrait Ideas

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos! The desert is so stark but so beautiful! I didn’t know you could find so many colors there. Great inspirational post! ;-)

    Like