Fabric Baskets

I absolutely love baskets!  I use to teach classes on making baskets with reed that  I dyed myself (I’ll show you some in another post).  But right now I am loving trying out some fabric baskets.  I’ve made a couple lately.

Small Fabric Basket

Small Fabric Basket

This basket is from a book I recently purchased called Zakka Sewing.  A great little book with Japanese projects for the household. I took their pattern, and made it my own size, and just followed their assembly directions.  It is lined with cotton batting, which gives it a soft yet stable form.  The pink linen is a thrifted piece, I love the pink!  And the outside is made of cotton.

The pink linen w/soft cotton batting inside.

The pink linen w/soft cotton batting inside.

Basket closeup of fabric

And here is another basket that I made, just an experiment on my part:

Woven Fabric Basket

Woven Fabric Basket

Sorry about the picture, I didn’t have good lighting at the time I took this, but you get the idea.  I took some strips of fabric and wove them, leaving the edges raw.  I then fused them together with an iron on interfacing. And formed the basket.  I think that I will be making more, and may do a tutorial in the future, hopefully soon!

Well, off to work.  Enjoy your day!  It’s Friday!

3 responses to “Fabric Baskets

  1. How sweet! I love these baskets too. I have made some using the Pink Penguin’s pattern. They sure are addicting.

    Like

  2. i love the basket!! i really need to try and make some!! :)

    Like

  3. cute baskets! I really like the idea but haven’t made any… yet!
    thanks for visiting and congratulating me this morning.
    :) Missy

    Like