It Isn’t Just Me…….Or Is It??

Not to whine, but I have to say…..I had one of those days this weekend! Have you ever had one, you know, the kind where for every stitch you took, it seemed like you had to take two out? I try to arrange to have one day on the weekend where I can spend most of the time sewing, or doing some sort of creative project.  So I expect that things will get in the way once in awhile.

Well, I had a bag that has been setting on my sewing table, that I started a couple of months ago for my daughter.  My idea to do it, but she started asking where it was.  So, I decided that I needed to finish it.  It is one of those that has no pattern, so I was making it up as I went, trying to incorporate in everything she needed to carry her laptop and books etc. for her classes.  Everything I did, I think that I ended up tearing out at least once.  I thought that maybe I was trying to rush, but I wasn’t!  Honest!!  Anyhow, all that being said, I put on the last snap tonight!  Yes, (big sigh of relief!)  Here it its,

Kathryn's Bag

Kathryn's Bag

It is actually a light weight corduroy, fully lined with batting, a divider in the middle to separate out the computer, a couple of pockets that snap closed, and a tab across the middle of the outside that also snaps.  There are two straps that are about 3″ wide, and also lined with batting to make them soft and pad her shoulders.  The bright areas on the fabric are actually gold, so they glowed when I took the picture.  Anyhow, one down!  (I’m sure that I won’t ever run out of projects!)

That being said, the dress behind the bag was also a project!  I picked up a dress that I found at the thrift store, that was floor length.  I thought it would be great for work if I shortened it. We have about nine months of summer here, so lots of summer dresses!  So I measured and cut the bottom and pinned it ready to go!  And no matching thread!  Yes, the same day as the bag project, actually before the bag!  So, I didn’t get far on that project either.

Here it is...

Here it is...

Here it is here.  All done now.   I stopped by the fabric store after work tonight, and got the thread.  I placed a macrame belt on it for this picture, it has brown beads on the end, that I picked up as the same time that I bought the dress, just in case I decided to use it.  I am hoping to make a belt from the portion of fabric that I cut off of the bottom of the dress.  We’ll see!

And finally, I did finish one other item!  I actually made this Friday night.  With spring here, and Easter just around the corner, I thought that this was so cute:

Easter chick

Easter chick

I picked up a copy of Quilts and more, and I thought that this chick was so cute!  And I have tons of fleece, so here it is!

Well, I hope that you all had great success on your projects over the weekend!  And thanks for listening, I really do appreciate it!  Take care!

Oh! Oh! Oh!!  I meant to mention that I won once again, on E-bay!  I have some surprises coming up in the next couple of weeks!  Stay tuned!

Comments are closed.