Book Review – Martha Stewart’s Encyclopedia of Crafts

Martha Stewart Craft Books Well, here it is!  I have to admit that I was pretty excited to see that Martha Stewart had a new book about crafts out!  This is a hefty book, with a wealth of information, done in Martha Stewart impeccable style!

If you are at all familiar with Martha Stewart’s craft books, you’ll know exactly what I mean.  If not, this is the book to try!  This book has 30 chapters covering 30 different techniques.  It is organized by topic from A – Z and includes step-by-step instructions and full-color photographs.

Martha’s team of editors have compiled a comprehensive array of crafts that can be done by crafters of all skill and experience levels, including children.

Each topic covered starts off with a little background and history and covers the materials used.  You’ll get a list of the basic material required and the projects that follow, will include the additional supplies needed.

Here is a page from the technique of  Botanical Printing.  The section will start with an introduction to the technique.  If you look further down the page, you see the section ‘About the Materials’ on the left, and the ‘Basic Supplies’ on the right.

dsc018701

Here is a page from the book showing the information about leaf printing, the basic materials needed and pictures that show you step-by-step how to do it.

dsc018751

Here is a project in the paper origami section for a project to make paper origami lights.  You get a lot of diagrams and full-color photos for each project.

dsc018771

In the back of the book there is a section for basic techniques.  There are illustrations to show you how to do them.  There is also a section of sources for materials and supplies.  I find this helpful because I can’t always get the materials I would like for a project.  I have tried several sources recommended by Martha Stewart in the past and have always been pleased with the quality of the items, the service and the prices.

Templates

Templates

There are several templates located in the back of the book.  Some need to be enlarged, but most are already the correct size to use.

I know that I am going to get a lot of use from this book.  The array of techniques that can be learned and the beautifully photographed pictures are so inspirational.  I hope that you check it out.  I don’t think any crafter should be without it!

I know that just looking at the array of techniques included in the book and the beautiful photography will inspire you to try something new.  I know that I am going to enjoy this book immensely, and I’ll be taking it out any time that I need inspiration!

2 responses to “Book Review – Martha Stewart’s Encyclopedia of Crafts

  1. Hi Cheryl….
    Your name was drawn as a winner in the UBP 2009 contest and you have won one of my Blue Feathered Nests.
    If you could please send me your snail mail address, I will send it off to you asap. Thank you….
    Have a most beautiful day.
    Robin

    Like

  2. I have been wondering about this new book, so thank you for the review and preview of a few pages. It actually looks like a very useful book with projects I might actually make!

    Like